Wayne Shorter - High Life (1995)



BaixoAki Downlo@ds said...

The album was produced by Marcus Miller (who also played electric bass) and keyboardist Rachel Z contributed to the orchestration on the album. A thirty-piece orchestral ensemble was also used in addition to the electronic instruments. Shorter played alto, baritone, tenor and soprano saxophones on the album. Additionally, he wrote, composed, and arranged all of the compositions featured on it.

The album was released on October 17, 1995 and the final track (Black Swan) was dedicated to the memory of Susan Portlynn Romeo. High Life won the Grammy Award for best Contemporary Jazz Album in 1997.

* Wayne Shorter - Tenor, and Soprano Saxophones
* Rachel Z - Piano, Synthesizers, Sound Design, and Sequencing
* David Gilmore - Electric Guitar
* Marcus Miller - Bass Guitar, Bass Clarinet, Rhythm Programming
* Lenny Castro - Percussion
* Airto Moreira - Percussion
* Munyungo Jackson - Percussion on Midnight in Carlotta's Hair
* Kevin Ricard - Percussion on Midnight in Carlotta's Hair
* Will Calhoun - Drums
* Terri Lyne Carrington - Drums on Midnight in Carlotta's Hair
* David Ward - Additional Sound Design

1. "Children of the Night" - 7:23
2. "At the Fair" - 7:29
3. "Maya" - 5:12
4. "On the Milky Way Express" - 5:35
5. "Pandora Awakened" - 6:20
6. "Virgo Rising" - 6:46
7. "High Life" - 6:28
8. "Midnight in Carlotta's Hair" - 5:54
9. "Black Swan (In Memory of Susan Portlynn Romeo)" - 2:04

All compositions by Wayne Shorter

Fátima said...

Hey buddy...would you mind uploading this CD again? I would really appreciated! Thanks a lot!